Recipe Trials- Zucchini Brownies

IMG_0064

Ok, zucchini brownies… Just weird enough to peak my interest. And delicious in reality. I swear I can taste the zucchini just a tad but I think it’s more in my head because I know it’s there. I had the roommates and coworkers give them a try and I got a thumbs up across the board. In this recipe, the zucchini replaces the egg you’d normally use… everything else is pretty much the same.

So here’s the recipe and instructions:

**********************************************************

INGREDIENTS:

FOR THE BROWNIES:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini (1 large or 2 small zucchinis)
  • 3-5 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional

FOR THE FROSTING:

  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a 9×13″ baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  3. Using an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, mix together the oil, sugar, and vanilla until well combined. Add the dry ingredients and stir. Fold in the zucchini. If your mixture is still very powdery, add up to 5 tablespoons water (start with 1 tablespoon and work up from there, stirring well after each addition). The batter will be very thick but shouldn’t be powdery. (It partially depends on how wet your zucchini is!) Add walnuts, if desired. You may need to use your hands to work the water in instead of a spoon. The dough is super thick, like cookie dough. Do not add too much water! Spread in prepared pan.
  4. Bake 25-30 minutes until the brownies spring back when gently touched.
  5. To make the frosting: Whisk butter, cocoa, salt, and powdered sugar. Whisk in milk and vanilla. Spread over cooled brownies. Cut into squares and chill to semi-set. The frosting hardens slightly on the top but stays wet and gooey underneath.
  6. These brownies are best stored in an airtight container and eaten within 2 days. Chill them to make them last an extra day.

(I got this recipe on Pinterest… Originally posted by http://www.crazyforcrust.com/2011/09/zucchini-brownies/ )

***************************************************************************

So the recipe was super easy. The only time consuming part was shredding the zucchini. Unfortunately I didn’t take pics of the process before the oven but the batter is super thick. It’s like forming play dough into the pan. Just use your hands… It’s easier.

The recipe says 25-30 minutes… Usually my cook time is the longer time due to the elevation I live at but 25 mins was all I needed. They look a little weird when they come out so I definitely recommend the frosting.

IMG_0060

I didn’t read ahead in the recipe and should have waited to make the frosting. The recipe says don’t apply until the brownies are cool. My frosting was ready to go before the brownies were even out of the oven so I just poured it on… I figured worse case scenario, the frosting gets running… but it’s in a pan so where’s it gonna run to? So I poured it on, it spread super easy then I set it to cool.

IMG_0061

Once the pan wasn’t hot to the touch, I put them in the fridge to cool them faster. The frosting definitely thickens up enough where it doesn’t smear all over the place. Over all, awesome brownies and they taste great. Mine definitely came out prefect fudge to cake consistency.

IMG_0063

Happy Trials!

IMG_0065

Leave a Reply

