Recipe Trials- Banana Oat Greek Yogurt Muffins

IMG_0036[1] So I decided to give a recipe I found on pinterest a whirl… They were interesting and easy to make. The recipe is as follows:

**********************************************************************************************************

Ingredients
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups rolled oats (old fashioned or quick)
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1½ tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ cup chocolate chips, mini or regular
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 400F and prepare a muffin pan by spraying cavities with cooking spray or lining them with paper liners**. Set aside.
  2. Add all ingredients except for chocolate chips to a blender or food processor and process on high until oats are broken down and batter is smooth and creamy. Stir in chocolate chips by hand.
  3. Pour batter into prepared muffin pan, filling each cavity until it is about ¾ full. Optional: sprinkle a few chocolate chips over the top of each muffin.
  4. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the tops of your muffins are set and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Allow muffins to cool in pan for ~10 minutes before removing. Store in an air-tight container for up to a week.
Notes
** If using paper liners, you’ll want to spray them with cooking spray as well, since the lack of oil in these muffins could make them stick to the liners after baking.
(recipe credited to http://www.runningwithspoons.com/2014/06/24/banana-oat-greek-yogurt-muffins/ )
******************************************************************************************************************************
Here’s the pic that was with the recipe:
e70688c814756f03be31820b1205d297
My muffins do not look like that….. I think someone needs to explain to me what “broken down oats” are. I placed all the ingredients into my kitchen aid and just let it run for a while. The batter was super runny and the oats had softened up quite a bit but mine did not look like that…. Those are the photo shopped, cover girl versions of my muffins….

IMG_0020[1]

I added chocolate chips….

IMG_0022[1]

Let’s be honest, I added WAY too many chocolate chips….. I never thought I’d utter those words but the chip per muffin ratio was a little extreme. I portioned the batter out into the 12 muffin cups then topped with more chocolate chips… I was lacking self control in this recipe….

IMG_0032[1]

And into the oven they went….

 IMG_0027[1]

The recipe says 15-20 mins… My muffins were still very gooey at 25 min but I live at a slightly higher altitude so that could explain the longer cooking time.

When they came out of the oven, they were very gooey. Like banana mush. A hot banana mushy mess…. They got less mushy as they cooled more. I tried one hot, after I let them cool, then after a night of being in the fridge. I personally thought they were best the next morning and chilled.

IMG_0035[1]

Over all thoughts on this recipe: not bad but I wouldn’t make them again… When I think muffin, I think of the glorious Costco, double chocolate chip gift from the gods…. These are like a nutrigrain bar comparably. They’re not bad but disappointing in comparison. Definitely taste like a breakfast food more than a treat. I think that’s because the oats are very present in the batch I made unlike the picture posted with the recipe.

I would recommend that you fully destroy those oats when making a batch to get more of a cake-like consistency. Unlike you’re a person that likes that more grainy texture… then go with what you feel. The oats are definitely the ingredient that will sway people either to or from liking this recipe in my opinion.

Good luck in your trials!

Leave a Reply

